Normally, I do not use this blog for stating my own views. I generally just state facts. Every once in a while, however, I write a post which expresses my own view. Such can not be said to be the view of American Catholic Solidarity itself, or our members. This is one such post.
Some years ago I was at work, and we are talking about foods we liked, and foods we did not like. I announced that I do not care for peanut butter, and one of my coworkers promptly called me a Communist. Apparently, it is just plain un-American to not like peanut butter. It’s a good thing they didn’t ask my political views.
In a previous post I criticized how the United States is trying to force our political views on other countries. This was one of the main reasons we became the sworn enemy of Communism. We believe in freedom. Communism is totalitarian. Yet, we are acting as totalitarians when we try to force Middle Easterners to accept our political views. We must recognize that some societies just are not compatible with our view of freedom.
I have other problems with the United States government, though. I am not a huge fan of either democracy, or republicanism. I believe both are inherently flawed. There are literally thousands of people involved with the running of our country. With so many people government becomes too big, and too wieldy. Hence, everything gets bogged down in inefficient bureaucratic procedures, and nothing gets accomplished. This allows for corruption to set in.
Another problem our government has is that everyone gets a vote. Why is this? Too many people have no clue what’s going on, and many couldn’t care less. Why don’t we have some kind of screening process? I know the laws don’t allow for this, but this should be changed. Too many fools are helping to determine the coarse of our country, and it’s hurting us.
We have an electoral college, which is what really determines who will be president. Some of our Founding Fathers did not trust the largely uneducated and often indifferent masses. So, they established an electoral college that can go against the popular vote, and select who it wants as president. Our votes are mere suggestions. So, defending our government by saying it allows our people to choose who governs us is an illegitimate argument.
I would also point out that in virtually every major war that we have won, the president has been given almost dictatorial powers. The was true for the Roman Empire, and virtually every democratic or representative form of government. The reason is that a crisis like war needs decisive action. You don’t let multiple people drive your car at the same time, do you? Then why all in multiple people to guide the ship of State?
In democracies and representative governments, public opinion tends to matter. If a war becomes unpopular (even if the country is currently winning the war), then the tide can easily turn. The war can be lost simply because popular opinion turns against it, and the politicians begin turning against it. We saw this happen in Vietnam. We are seeing this now in Iraq. We left before the job was done.
Well, this is where I think a constitutional monarchy would be superior. Not the way England has done it, no. I think one can have a monarch who makes at least most of the decisions, and have a legislative body which gives a voice to the people (though the monarch should not be obliged to listen to the people, since they are not always right, or well-informed). There must also be a constitution that sets parameters on the monarch, so he/she can not become tyrannical. The military is loyal to the monarch unless he/she breaches the constitution.
Such a set up ensures that things don’t get as bogged down in bureaucratic procedures, and it guarantees that things will get done. You have one person in charge calling the shots. Such decisiveness bodes well in war. That is why Rome established a dictator during war. That is why wartime presidents in the US tend to have greater authority than peacetime presidents. Crises require decisiveness, not endless debate and division.
I could go on and on, but I want to limit the length of this post. I simply wanted to make my views on government clearly known. While I don’t hate our form of government, I am not its greatest admirer. Democracies and representative governments have their strengths, but they are not ideal. Monarchy’s advantage is the decisiveness and unity of action it brings. If we can combine this with our current form of government, we would greatly benefit. First, however, we need to find someone other than the idiots we have now to lead us.
Peace in Christ,
David J. Pollard
President
American Catholic Solidarity

