The following is the life story of our Auxiliary Member Milad H. Dadashi. His story is great, and very inspiring. I have edited the story as Milad is a native of Iran, and his English, though quite good, is sometimes a little difficult to follow. I also have been requested to hide his current location. Here is Milad’s story.

“Before the Islamic Revolution in 1979, my father was working in the Air Force of the Kingdom Army as an officer. After the Revolution, because of his loyalty to the king of Iran (Mohammad Reza Pahlavi), Muslims exorcized my father from the army. I was born in the 1980s, and I soon found out the meaning of discrimination due to my father’s old job in the army.

“With the passing of time, I found out the meaning of pain and suffering. When I was 15 I began playing guitar. The guitar was my only friend. For a time, I even taught guitar lessons. It was my only job at the time, and it brought in very little money.

“Almost 11 years ago, I went to Ukraine with a friend of mine to further my education. It was in Ukraine that I met a Catholic girl named Natasha. With her I visited many beautiful churches. One especially beautiful church was in Kiev. It was located on a mountain, and it had a long, dark underground.

“Due to money problems I was forced to return to Iran. Once back, I took and passed the entrance exam for Urmia University. I was accepted as an accounting major. That was the year that Mahmoud Ahmadinejad first won the presidential election. With Ahmadinejad’s ascension to the presidency, the Islamists gained more power than ever before.

“At that time I was secretly playing guitar in my dorm room, because guitar playing had been forbidden by the government. Somehow, the Islamic security found out, and they began to harass me. In order to continue my education, I was forced to attend the mosque and recite the Sallat (Muslim prayers). Gradually, they began to like me, and I requested the Imam of Urmia University to allow me to take on a second major. They granted my request, and I hold bachelor degrees in both accounting and Islamic Law. These were strange days.

“In these years I spent a lot of time praying, and studying the Qur’an. Yet, Allah does not exist. So I was screaming and crying, but there was no answer to my prayers.

“After graduation, the Imam of Urmia University helped me to get a job as a financial and tax auditor. At that time I met a nice, beautiful girl whom I married after a year. I had not told my wife’s family that I had become a Christian by this time. After only one month of marriage, my wife’s family discovered my secret. They took my wife away from me by force, and told me to file for divorce or they would kill me. This still causes me great pain when I think about it.

“A year went by, and I was finally accepted to study for a master’s degree in private law at Tehran University. I wanted to become a judge, but the Islamists found out that I was not really a Muslim. They wanted me to do dishonorable things. If I didn’t cooperate, I was told, I would suffer. This happened because of my belief in Jesus Christ. So, about five months ago, I was forced to flee my homeland.

“In Iran, Christians don’t usually accept converts into their churches, because of Islamic restrictions. Just two or three churches accepted converts. So I joined an Assembly of God church. Due again to government restrictions, many house churches are secretly opened. Those who are publicly opened have teachers who spread false teachings.

“When I came to my new home there were only two Iranian Protestant churches. I began attending a Protestant church. They are kind people, but their teachings are false. For example:

1) Mary is not holy.

2) God is not sacrosanct.

3) Baptism is not necessary.

“In Iran Christians have many problems. For example, many of the churches do not baptize, because of the Islamic restrictions. Because of this, my friend and I went to a river north of Tehran and baptized one another. I believe now this was a mistake.

“Anyway, I believe it is my right to pray to God as a Catholic. It is the right of our people (Iranians) to receive an education in the Catholic Faith. They should not have to depend on the house churches and errors of Protestantism. It is not my fault my parents were Muslims. I deserve to know the truth, and the truth is the Catholic Church.

“This is the story of my life.”

Milad’s personal testimony will be next.

Peace in Christ,

David J. Pollard

President

American Catholic Solidarity

and

Worldwide Catholic Solidarity

